DIY · Essential Oils · homemade · Tutorial

D.I.Y Deodorant for the win

So I have a problem, and it is really really embarrassing.  Like it’s really bad. Every morning I get up, I get dressed, and I put on my deodorant.  By mid day after sitting at work, sweating my deodorant runs out. It stops working and I am left sitting smelling like BO for the rest of the day unless I remember to bring my purse deodorant so I can reapply mid day. Do you know how annoying that is? It is terrible and embarrassing especially if I don’t reapply. Whats even worse is after the day has ended and I am giving my daughter a hug goodnight and she says “Momma I smell something!”

I have tried every brand of deodorant, mens, clinical, everything! Nothing has worked for me.

I recently ordered some essential oils and I thought hey I should try to make a natural deodorant. I was a little hesitant to do this because I didn’t want to be one of those smelly hippies ( no offense you are awesome ) but I decided to give it a shot!

Guess what! It worked! Seriously, I have tested it in Texas Summer heat so I know it is effective 🙂

So here it is!

IMG_4217 copy.jpg

 

Ingredients 

⅓ cup of baking soda

⅓ cup of cornstarch

3 tablespoons of coconut oil

2 tablespoons of shea butter

2 tablespoons of beeswax (originally I had only put 1 tablespoon in but the end product was too soft so I had to re heat and add more)

7 drops of Purification oil

5 drops of Thieves oil

and an empty deodorant stick

the How:

First I added the coconut oil and shea butter into a mason jar and put it in a pot to boil. This is an alternative method I used because I don’t have a double boiler. But if you have one please feel free to use it. Now if you do the jar method please be careful and don’t burn yourself. If you do happen to burn yourself just add a drop of peppermint and coconut oil to the burn to help cool it. Alright next I added the cornstarch and baking soda. Mix Mix Mix until you have a nice pancake batter like paste. Wait for it to cool down a bit, not so much that it begins to harden though just thickens up. Once it has cooled add your essential oils. Mix Mix Mix and pour into your empty stick.

Ta da! You are done! Just wait for your stick to cool ( I put mine in the fridge) and you are done!

 

So I actually had a little extra that did not fit in to my deodorant stick, so I decided to make and in-between or under the boob deodorant. I added a couple drops of frankincense   because it is notorious for working wonders for your skin. However, I dunno if I would recommend doing this if you have super sensitive skin. The baking soda is a little harsh and could irritate you, so maybe just stick to putting it under your arms.

 

IMG_4225 copy.jpg

 

Well that’s it! and seriously this recipe has been amazing! I am so excited that it is working for me. It has only be four days since I started using it but so far it has lasted the entire day! You could ask my husband, every night I stick my armpit  out and tell him look no smell! I kid you not this literally happens. I know its gross but I am just so excited.

If you have any questions or decide to test it out yourself, please share it with us all!

And if you are wondering where to get the essential oils I used, check them out here. You can purchase an entire kit or individual oils, whatever your heart desires!

Leave a Reply

